I think I understand why rednecks become terrorists. Update 2

douglas-falling_down1

In case you’re just joining us. I wrote about my frustrations of unknowingly having my license suspended for the past year and half  here and here.  Last Friday, I spent a decent amount of time trying to get proof of insurance from the gecko bastard company 11 years after the fact. After harassing them again on Monday, on Tuesday they call back to tell me that they didn’t insure my car in April 1998. I called two other possible insurance companies but they told me that they didn’t cover me either. I couldn’t think of any other insurance companies I would have used and decided to check my bank statements from 1998. I checked online and my statements only went back to 2002. I went to my bank to see if they could pull up archives of the checks I wrote in ’97 and ’98 and the woman damn near laughed at me. “We’re only required to keep statements for 7 years.”
So they too only had my shit going back to 2002.  Sherlock Holmes, I am not. PU~
I had a decision to make. Either call every auto insurance company that I could have used and ask them if they could dig in their archives for my shit -or- just admit guilt and payoff Nassau County to get my life back to normal.

So I gave in.. I took the LIRR out to the NCTPVA for the last time and caught a break. The court officer saw that I’d been there the previous week and asked if I’d been able to bring proof of insurance. I told her that I hadn’t even been able to figure out what insurance company I had then. She said “Yeah, this *is* very old” and knocked the penalty down to $50. On principle, I really wanted to push it and tell her that because the insurance question came up after a traffic accident, there’s no way that I wasn’t covered. But I shut my mouth and agreed to it. A Grant plus a $35 payoff to the DMV (to reinstate my license – the same fuckers who don’t notify you that your shit is suspended) later and I was finally free from this bullshit. I felt dirty,  but free.

Moral of the story? Don’t assume that your license is OK. It sounds like a waste of time and hopefully it is, but if you’ve ever gotten any type of traffic ticket, call the DMV and get a status check on your license. This story would have been completely different if NYPD had discovered that my license was suspended instead of an insurance broker. You don’t need that shit in your life.
If I drop another update, it’ll be with a petition… and that’ll all depend on what I get hear from my congressman’s office.

~ by Chief Racka on March 19, 2009.

2 Responses to “I think I understand why rednecks become terrorists. Update 2”

  1. Noooooo! Rednecks and terrorists don’t give in! LOL I guess this means you’re a good guy. I wonder how long it would have taken you to find the right insurance office.

  2. I’d be a terrible terrorist or redneck. I have no idea how long it would have taken for me to find out the insurance company I had at the time, but holding out for the principle of it was quickly becoming a pain in the ass. A small part of me wishes I’d fought on, but the rest of me is glad that I can drive again.

Leave a Reply

 
