Massachusetts Introduces Marijuana Legalization Bill

You wouldn’t know that it’s been years since I’ve touched the stuff as often as I post about it, but with a quick reference to this, It looks like Massachusetts isn’t going to be out-smoked by California. State legislators know that the recession is deep, and they all probably know firsthand that marijuana isn’t the demon lawmakers and tightasses of generations past made it out to be. Public opinion shows that the marijuana prohibition is a joke (In MA last November, 65% of voters endorsed an initiative to reclassify marijuana possession to a fine-only penalty) and the fact the State Commonwealth could raise $100 million in legal dope money is a huge incentive.

The new bills House Bill 2929 and Senate Bill 1801 is seeking to “tax and regulate (no Nate Dogg) the marijuana industry.  The bills will essentially equate cannabis with alcohol by regulating its commercial production and distribution for adults over 21 years of age.

The details are all here: http://www.cantaxreg.com

If you happen to live in Massachusetts, you can write to your state legislators in support of the bill, right here.

If I were Barack Obama, I’d issue this statement:

“Uh.. Look, I’ve never tried to hide the fact that I smoked a bit in my youth and I’m very pleased to see that state lawmakers are taking the initiative to tap into the power of the sticky to fill their coffers. I’ve called off my DEA dogs in the state of California, and I promise that if a majority of states follow California and Massachusett’s lead in reforming the marijuana laws, I’ll draw up legislation that will decriminalize marijuana at the federal level. In other words, advertise it, and I’ll legalize it. Oh.. And to the CEOs of fast-food and snack food companies: You’re Welcome.”

~ by Chief Racka on March 24, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
